Friday, June 26, 2009

"Idol" Pays Tribute to the King of Pop

FOX and “American Idol” will pay tribute to Michael Jackson by re-airing the Top 13 episode featuring the music of Michael Jackson…

I just wish that Michael had been able to appear in this episode…

If you’ve forgotten, here’s what you’ll hear:

Lil Rounds - “The Way You Make Me Feel”
Scott MacIntyre - “Keep the Faith”
Danny Gokey - “PYT”
Michael Sarver - “You Are Not Alone”
Jasmine Murray - “I’ll Be There”
Kris Allen - “Remember the Time”
Allison Iraheta - “Give in to Me”
Anoop Desai - “Beat It”
Jorge Nunez - “Never Can Say Goodbye”
Megan Joy - “Rockin’ Robin”
Adam Lambert - “Black or White”
Matt Giraud - “Human Nature”
Alexis Grace - “Dirty Diana”

No word on whether anything new has been filmed to add to the show.

I think this is a wonderful gesture, but I’m not sure how much of an honor it is to MJ’s memory to hear Megan do “Rockin’ Robin.” However, I do think it is a definite tribute to hear Allison do “Give In to Me.” Can’t believe that song never cracked the Top 40…

The two-hour episode will re-air Monday, June 29th at 8 p.m. on FOX…